Tags

, , , ,

Hello my fellow tea drinkers!

I hope that life is treating you well. Sorry I’ve been MIA, life, you know? Anyway, I have a question for all of you.  Who do you consider to be the experts on your mental and physical health?

I hope that your answer is that you are the expert on you. Obviously, this is simply my opinion, but it’s what works for me. I have all new doctors (and new medications as well) and I’m realizing more and more how important it is to me that my doctors are my allies, rather than authority figures. I’m the one who is with me 24/7/365. I know what is normal for me and what isn’t. I know when my body is trying to communicate with me. I’ve dealt with depression since I was 8 years old. I can feel my depressive episodes coming on and I can tell beforehand whether this time will be mild or serious. I need doctors who are willing to listen to me, not ones who are condescending.

And for the record, good doctors are hard to find, but they are out there. You just have to keep looking. For me, taking care of my mental and physical health is a full time job and I am damn serious about doing my job well. I constantly read up on my conditions and try to apply the latest research to myself. I’m an educated patient. Some doctors feel threatened by this. Other doctors love it, and those are the ones I stick with. The others can go screw themselves. I’m serious.

I recently changed doctors and my new doctor is kind of a bitch. We didn’t click at all. And I was in her office for 3 hours. And she didn’t refill my Norco. And she wouldn’t give me sleeping pills. And I just didn’t like her. She didn’t hear what I had to say. She actually got kind of offended when I tried to explain to her what was going on with my body. Bitch. I had high hopes for her, but now I have to find another doctor. Thanks for nothing, lady. I hate this whole process. It’s ridiculous. So there’s that.

Anyway, my point is that she doesn’t know me at all and I’m expected to just trust the judgement of a complete stranger? No. I don’t think so. I’m not willing to do that. When you give away your power to the “experts” it usually results in you getting screwed over. I’m not saying that doctors don’t have value, I’m just saying that we all have the right, and really an obligation, to be proactive about our health. I am the expert on me and nobody can take that away. I’ll change my doctor 10 more times if that’s what it takes because no one is in charge of my health and wellness except me.

